Announcing Seán Mac Erlaine’s “Music for Empty Ears”

We’re thrilled to announce that Seán Mac Erlaine’s third album on Ergodos will be released on 25 May 2018, with a launch tour reaching Dublin, Cork and London. The Irish musician’s richly-textured woodwind sound meets an expanded palette on Music for Empty Ears, which is now available to pre-order here.

Today, the celebrated US music zine Tiny Mix Tapes premiered a first taste of the album – listen here.

Don’t miss your chance to experience this stunning new music in the flesh:
Dublin / Project Arts Centre / 6 April 2018 (with Jan Bang and Eivind Aarset)
Cork / Triskel Arts Centre / 7 April 2018 (with Jan Bang and Eivind Aarset)
London / Daylight Music @ Union Chapel / 19 May 2018

Having honed his distinctively-shaped soliloquies over his first two solo records, Mac Erlaine’s work now bears the mark of collaborations with Norwegian luminaries Jan Bang and Eivind Aarset to reveal a fresh, variegated musical language.

The album journeys through a splendour of musical shades: from the gently insistent minimal grooves and hushed invocations of tracks such as ‘The Melting Song’; to slow pans across dark, saturated vistas on tracks such as ‘Winter Flat Map’; to a warm, celebratory treatment of the Irish traditional tune ‘An Buachaill Caol Dubh’; and to moments of visceral, splintered abstraction in ‘Shake and Sigh’ and ‘The Alchemist III’.

Whether it’s the elusive vocals of Galway singer Sadhbh Ní Dhálaigh or Mac Erlaine’s sublime clarinet melodies that catch you, Music for Empty Ears is an album that reveals more and more with each listen. And, with a bespoke print by Dublin design studio Destinctive Repetition, the heavyweight vinyl of Music for Empty Ears is a beautiful and sumptious object to hold as much as to hear.